What is the next best thing?

This blog post is my attempt to engage with something called ‘The Next Best Thing’. I’m not sure I fully understand it but it’s a sort of pay it forward and I was tagged by Kathleen Jones  who writes both non fiction and fiction works and is a fellow member of Authors Electric.

The idea is that I answer 10 questions and then tag other writers, encouraging them to join in… and so we go…

Here are my answers:

Q1. What is the working title of your book?

The One that Got Away

Q2 where did the idea come from for the book?

Three places. An ‘archetypal’ story A Fishing Line , wanting to enhance a minor character from an earlier novel  and a desire to explore Cuba (and Guevarian economics!)  in fiction, showing that there’s more to life than materialism.

Q3 What genre does your book fall under?

Contemporary fiction -though I don’t think that’s a ‘genre’ as such, but I don’t like the phrase ‘literary’ fiction as it implies one needs some sort of credentials to read it, and I write for ‘ordinary’ contemporary readers.

Q4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

No idea, I spent too many years NOT getting my work made into movies to go back into this sort of reverie. I don’t believe the be all and end all of a novel or story is to get it on screen.

Q5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

There’s more to life than materialism and moments change lives as ‘Our man in Havana’ finds out in 1989.

Q6 Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Self published. It’s the only way to go after 20 years ‘in’ the industry. Control is freedom. Life’s too short to wait for the mainstream, I’m happier jumping into the brooks and taking my chances. I want to reach readers not publishers.

Q7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

Three months (if you don’t count the six months research and thinking before committing finger to keyboard)

Q8. What other books would you compare the story to within your genre?

Not sure that I can. It’s not really genre fiction to begin with and I can’t think of anything I’ve read that I’d describe as ‘similar’ – but then it’s still being written so the ‘style’ isn’t completely fixed yet.

Q9. Who or what inspired you to write this book?

Che Guevara and Adam Faith (I have my reasons but they won’t be clear to all)

Q10 What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

It’s part of a Trilogy in Four Parts. Part One ‘Another World is Possible’ is already written, this is Part Two and the final two parts due some time 2013.

And this is where it all goes a bit pearshaped. I don’t know who to link ‘on’ to.  I’ll add this information as I get it (because I haven’t found anyone who wants to ‘play’ the game. I’m going to link on anyway, to people who I think it would be worth while you reading their blogs, never mind whether they engage with The Next Best Thing or not.

Catherine Czerkawska an award winning playwright and novelist with several ebook publications already available and more on the way. I believe her ‘next best thing’ will be a novel called The Physic Garden. You can find out more about her http://wordarts.blogspot.co.uk/

Brendan Gisby who hosts McStorytellers and is working on The Burrymen War. Brendan’s written an eclectic mix of fiction and non fiction and works tirelessly to promote the Scottish short story form.  His link is http://www.mcstorytellers.com/ (for McStorytellers) and Brendan Gisby http://the4bs.weebly.com/

Susan Price who is a leading light of Authors Electric and writes for children and young adults. She’s written over 55 books and won a Carnegie Medal for The Ghost Drum. She’s writing ebooks now too. You can find her at   http://susanpricesblog.blogspot.co.uk/

About callyphillips
Writer.

Comments are closed.

